aquenigmatic: (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] aquenigmatic at 02:11pm on 10/01/2010
Well. There's heat at both work and home at the same time, which feels pretty remarkable. Pretty great, in fact.

We're moving into Year of the Tiger, which should be my year to shine. I've been feeling less than shiny; I'm trying not to panic about certain things. Bluntly put, my back is fucked right now. I'll be seeing someone about that as soon as I can shake loose some money, which is good because right now it hurts to sit, stand, lie down for too long, raise my arms, turn my head, reach for anything, walk, or drive. More than an ache, less than a scream. Hot, white pain like jaggies under my skin and burning.

I know we all carry our pain; I come from a place where suffering is admired only if it's done in silence. I'm not looking for admiration, only to be able to fulfill my dreams and maybe not be in pain all the time. It's still hard to talk about. I may be dreaming big; I may have to find peace with being in pain all the time and laying to rest my aspirations, for I could scarcely work in the healthcare arenas I'm drawn to in this shape. That, a loss of direction and knowledge of purpose, terrifies me more than all else. So.

I have a semester or so to try to structure a more sustainable and healing lifestyle. Do you like to take walks? I would love to walk with you. Do you like to cook? I've been cooking bigger portions so I can have leftovers - maybe we can exchange a portion for varieties sake. Do you like the hot tub? I'll be trying to get to Piedmont Springs a couple of times a month - it's $15 per person per hour and would you like to come with? Do you like backrubs? I'll exchange with you. It's not a come-on, unless we decide that it is. I'm just broke and broken and trying to hold on to a shred of resolve and calm and the few friends I've made out here. And right now it all feels very hard.

Can you think of anything that might help? People ask me all the time, "Is there anything I can do?" You gems. You priceless friends. I've dreamed for good friends for so long. I don't know how to answer you except in short-term simplicities, i.e. a cup of tea. Perhaps you can suggest something? If not, that's okay. I appreciate that you would help me or anyone. Thank you for your understanding, your kisses, your kind eyes. That's what I hold onto at times like these.

I apologize ahead of time for my limitations. I really am trying. I know it's important to keep trying. I just may not be able to show up some days. And I think, because of the kind of people you are, that you will understand, right? You won't write me off completely, will you?

There have been times when my reach has far exceeded my grasp. I've missed events, dropped responsibilities, forgotten things. I only hope for the time and opportunity to make some things right again, if I can, and to keep moving forward. I love looking up and finding you at my side.

Thank you for everything. Shelter, attention, gifts big and small. Your acknowledgement. Your meals. Your firm hand. Your kindnesses and all. But for the intersections, The Way is often dull, wearying, and lonely. But You're always reminding me that it's not always so.

In Solidarity,


aquenigmatic
There are 6 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
wild_irises: (Default)
posted by [personal profile] wild_irises at 07:27am on 11/01/2010
Honestly? This is not the pain you have to change your dreams for. This one is fixable, or at the very least reduce-able to a tolerable amount. I don't know that, but I am sure of it, if the difference makes any sense.

Hang in there.
aquenigmatic: (Default)
posted by [personal profile] aquenigmatic at 02:12am on 12/01/2010
It does make sense, and thanks. I really want that to be the case as well. (And I'd really like to not injure myself more to discover I'm wrong.) One day at a time.
serene: mailbox (Default)
posted by [personal profile] serene at 08:09am on 12/01/2010
I'm feeling rambly, so I have a lot of thoughts about this. Don't worry if it's too many; read later or skip, no harm done.

I've never been to Piedmont Springs. I am a tub fiend and we don't even have a bathtub. If we can figure out a night that we're both free, I'd be happy to pay for both of us (or us plus [personal profile] wild_irises if she wants to go) if you'd either drive or help me get there on transit.

And of course you know you're welcome here. I feel not-interesting these days, but I care about you and want you to be happy and well taken care of, so if coming and hanging out here would ever help with that, please do so.

(I have not managed to bring in the newspaper myself half the time, much less drop it off for you, but you're still welcome to it when I'm done with it if you're willing to pick it up.)

We shop for food at least a couple times a week, and we obviously pass your place on the way home from our regular grocery store. If there's anything you need at the store and you don't feel up to hunting and gathering, please send me an email and I'll deliver whatever you're needing.

And if you ever just want to rant or chat in email to someone who probably won't know the parties involved, but is on your side and can ask questions and commiserate and so on, I'm at serene@serenepages.org.
aquenigmatic: (Default)
posted by [personal profile] aquenigmatic at 01:30am on 13/01/2010
Hey!

I'm totally jazzed to drive us to the tub in my tiny Honda, at least until we figure out car-less options that are just up the street.

(Indeed, you will have to decide on comfort too--the free hot tub is in full view of an apartment building, and shared in silence at the request of the owner because of neighbors complaining. I've never had a problem, but the level of exposure isn't for everyone.)

I care about you (all) too, and was remarking to wild_irises the other day that I was berating myself for not having gotten over there just to say hi.

Let me sort of wrap my mind around my schedule, and the new job posting I'm staring at and get back to you with some times--do you have any availability this weekend?

xo
serene: mailbox (Default)
posted by [personal profile] serene at 02:31am on 13/01/2010
I look to be free either Sunday or Monday; I have no exposure issues, if that becomes a thing.

And I forbid you (lovingly) to ever make visiting an obligation or source of guilt. We know where you are, and we know you care about us. I love having neighbors, because one doesn't necessarily have to be uber-social in order to know that one's social network is close to hand.
aquenigmatic: (Default)
posted by [personal profile] aquenigmatic at 02:39am on 13/01/2010
OK. But it wasn't guilt, it was, "How have I not gotten over there in so long! I miss them! I want them to know I like them! Waaah!" [pouty pout] berating, not the guilty kind.

I will see what's up with Piedmont for Sunday late morning.

Links

May

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
            1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5 6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19 20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25 26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31